Published:  02:39 AM, 11 February 2019

JOF to file cases with 64 district polls courts

JOF to file cases with 64 district polls courts

The leaders of Jatiya Oikya Front (JOF) and the Acting Chairperson of Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) Taraque Rahman have decided to file 64 cases at 64 district head quarters with district election tribunals of the country against what they said "rigged" elections held on December 30 last.

The leaders of both the JOF and the BNP have asked the candidates who had contested in the last national polls with the symbol of sheaf of paddy or the symbol of Gano Forum to file a single case in each and every district as a symbol of protest against the rigged polls conducted by the Bangladesh Election Commission.

Dr Kamal Hossain, convener of JOF and President of Gano Forum asked the concerned district leaders of the JOF to file the cases within the stipulated time as framed by the Election Commission under the Representation of the People Order 1972.BNP Acting Chairman Tarique Rahman asked the leaders of his party to file the cases by 15 February.

One candidate from each district will file these cases. The leaders of the JOF decided to file the cases with the election tribunals about a month ago and Acting Chairman of BNP Tarique Rahman instructed the BNP leaders on Saturday over skype from London to file the cases.

The leaders of the JOF and the BNP consulted lawyers before Tarique Rahman's instructions for lodging the cases.The leaders of the district committees of the JOF and BNP have collected  evidences in connection with the "rigged" elections across the country during the months of January and February to prove the alleged wrong practices adopted by the administration and law enforcers of concerned constituencies.

The district leaders of the BNP and the JOF have also collected the lists of presiding officers, polling officers, polling agents of the relevant constituencies and the statements or the result sheets of the election submitted to different offices for declaring results of the elections.

During the election, specially one day before of the polling - on 29 December the election officials and law enforcers had not prevented some political workers from seal the ballot papers and dropped those into the ballot boxes, sources in the JOF and the BNP alleged.

According to the election rules, the counterfoil of every ballot papers must be dully signed by the voters and result sheets of the centres signed by the polling agents of the candidates who contested the polls of the respective constituencies.

But 99 percent ballot papers and 90 percent result sheets were not dully signed by the voters or the polling agents of the respective polling centres, the sources said adding that the candidates from JOF or BNP have collected such types of result sheets.

These result sheets, statements and other relevant documents of the 11th national polls including the statements of the polling agents of the constituencies will be submitted to the election tribunals as proof of the rigging and other irregularities.The BNP Acting Chairman held a video conference meeting with the senior leaders of the party on Satiurday afternoon at the BNP's Naya Paltan office in the capital over skype.

Most of the senior and young leaders including Professor Dr Khandker Mosharrof Hossain, Dr Moudud Ahmed, Dr Abdul Moyeen Khan, Ruhul Kabir Rizvi, Major (retd) Hafiz Uddin Ahmed, Barrister Irfan Ibn Aman Omi, Shaiful Alam, A B M Mosharraf Hossain, Zahir Uddin Swapan, Jeba Amina Khan, Ruhul Amin, Nitai Roy Chowdhury, Anindya Islam Amit, Masud Arun, Anisur Rahman Talukder Khokon, G K Gaus, Azizul Bari Helal, Lutfur Rahman Kajol, Mizanur Rahman Chowdhury, Hazi Mujib, Shyama Obayed, Mizanur Rahman Minu, Joynul Abedin Faruk, Rafiqul Islam Monju, Mainul Islam Khan Shanto and some other candidates attended the meeting.

The 20-party alliance led by BNP and Dr Kamal Hossain led Jatiya Oikya Front contested in the eleventh Parliamentary election and won a total of nine seats in the parliament. Both the BNP-led alliance and Dr Kamal Hossain-led Jatiya Okiya Front leaders have rejected the results of the erlection immediately after their announcement.The winning candidates of BNP and the JOF have not yet taken oaths as members of theparliament.     

Leave Your Comments

Latest News

More From Frontpage

Go to Home Page »

Site Index The Asian Age