Published:  01:03 AM, 14 May 2019 Last Update: 02:31 AM, 14 May 2019

Mustafiz, Mashrafe put Tigers on top

Mustafiz, Mashrafe put Tigers on top Bangladesh skipper Mashrafe Mortaza celebrates after claiming the wicket of Windies opener Sunil Ambris in Malahide, Dublin. -Collected

Pace sensation Mustafizur Rahman and skipper Mahsrafe Mortaza produced disciplined bowling display as West Indies were restricted to 247 for nine in 50 overs in the fifth match of the ongoing tri-nation series on Monday at the Malahide in Dublin.

West Indies captain Jason Holder earlier won the toss and elected to bat first but the decision was backfired as Mashrafe and Mustafizur kept Windies under check.

Windies kept losing wickets at regular intervals and were slumped to 4-99 in 24th over. Later they overcame batting meltdown with Shai Hope's watchful 87 and Holder's elegant 62. The duo added 100-run stand for the fifth wicket.

Hope continued his good form against Bangladesh with another brilliant knock before he became Mashrafe's second victim. Mustafiz then kept Windies under pressure by taking couple of wickets. 

Mustafiz finished four for 43 in his nine overs while Mashrafe bagged three wickets for 60 runs.    Pacer Abu Jayed Rahi who played five Tests and three ODIs for Bangladesh replaced Mohammad Saifuddin, ruled out with back spasm.

West Indies captain Jason Holder earlier won the toss and elected to bat first but, the stake is low for them, considering that they have already confirmed the final. However stake is high for Bangladesh since a win in the match would seal their spot in the final.

The Caribbean side rested their fast bowler Shannon Gabriel for this match. Raymon Reifer, the left-arm fast bowler and lower order batsman made his debut, coming in place of Gabriel.

Line Ups:

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mohammad Mithun, Mahmudullah Riyad, Sabbir Rahman, Mashrafe Mortaza, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Abu Jayed (ODI debut), Mustafizur Rahman

West Indies: Shai Hope, Sunil Ambris, Darren Bravo, Roston Chase, Jonathan Carter, Jason Hodler, Fabian Allen, Ashley Nurse, Sheldon Cottrell, Kemar Roach, Raymon Reifer (ODI debut).

Leave Your Comments

Latest News

More From Sports

Go to Home Page »

Site Index The Asian Age