Walton ODI Tri-series

Published:  03:14 AM, 18 May 2019

Bangladesh wins historic trophy

President, PM congratulate Tigers

Bangladesh wins historic trophy Tigers celebrating with their first-ever tri-nation series title after defeating West Indies by five wickets at Dublin, Ireland on Friday. -Courtesy

Blistering half-centuries by Soumya Sarkar and Mosaddek Hossain have propelled Bangladesh to their first-ever tri-nation series title in a nerve-jangling chase against West Indies.

The Tigers chased down 213 in some style in the rain-shortened final of the tri-nation series in Ireland. Mosaddek was duly adjudged the 'Player of the Match' while Hope bagged the 'Player of the Series' award.

Meanwhile's late cameo of 24-ball 52 -- featuring five maximums and two boundaries -- helped Bangladesh reach the target with seven balls to spare.   Bangladesh had five wickets when Mahmudullah hit the winning boundary at Dublin on Friday.  While chasing the target, Bangladesh added 51 runs in five overs.

Soumya was explosive at the start scoring the first 51 runs. However, in the sixth over, Bangladesh lost Tamim Iqbal and Sabbir Rahman in quick successions. Tamim fell while playing a short delivery of Shanon Gabriel.

He skied the ball to mid-off, and Jason Holder took a regulation catch. In the same over, Shannon took up the wicket of Sabbir Rahman who had got a chance to bat at the top order in the absence of Shakib Al Hasan but failed to live up to the expectation.At the other end, Soumya was continuing to score ample runs.

He reached his fifty off 27 balls with eight fours and two sixes. Bangladesh ended on 213 for five in 22.5 overs and sealed the game by five wickets. For West Indies, Shanon Gabriel and Raymon Reifer took two wickets each.Earlier Bangladesh won the toss and decided to bowl first. West Indies scored 131 runs in 20.1 without losing any wicket before it started raining.

When the game resumed, Mehidy Hasan Miraz put an end to in-form Shai Hope's innings. The batsman made 74 off 64 balls thanks to six fours and three sixes. Ambris was not out on 69 at the end of the 24th over. Mustafizur Rahman was facing a game to forget, conceding 50 in 5 overs, but the batsmen later bailed their star pacer out.

Bangladesh were without key player Shakib Al Hasan, but they still managed to win, which is certain to delight the fans with the World Cup knocking on the door.Tigers won both their league matches against West Indies. At the same time, they came up victorious in their only match against hosts Ireland.On the other hand, West Indies won both of their matches against Ireland.

Tigers have played six finals in the last decade but failed to win any of them. Bangladesh lost three tri-nation finals.Two of them were against Sri Lanka in 2009 and 2018, and the other one was against India in 2018 (Nidahas Trophy).Bangladesh had taken the latest tri-nation series as their preparatory event before heading into the World Cup.

Now, winning the title, Bangladesh announced they are all set to go to the World Cup in England and Wales.The Tigers will open their World Cup campaign on 2 June, against South Africa.President M Abdul Hamid and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina have congratulated the Tigers for their historic win.

Leave Your Comments

Latest News

More From Frontpage

Go to Home Page »

Site Index The Asian Age