Published:  12:39 AM, 11 July 2019

Mariner Youngs seal Women's Handball title

Mariner Youngs seal Women's Handball title Champion Dhaka Mariner Youngs Club posing with trophy after beating Arambagh Krira Sangha in the final day of the Cute Women's Handball League on Wednesday. -BHF

The Cute Women's Handball League 2019 organized by Bangladesh Handball Federation (BHF) under auspices of Mousumi Industries Limited came to an end on Wednesday with the final match and prize giving ceremony at the Shaheed (Captain) M Mansur Ali National Handball Stadium.

In the final day's events, Dhaka Mariner Youngs Club pulled off exciting 33-30 goals over Arambagh Krira Sangha to clinch the title. Arambagh finished 17-19 goals in the first half but table toppers Mariners came back strongly in the second half to confirm the title. Sormina Jeshwal top scored 10 goals for Mariner Youngs.

Mariner were unbeaten through the meet. Meanwhile, Madaripur Handball Training Centre overpowered Quantum Foundation by 81-23 goals to finish second in the tournament. Madaripur finished the first half with the dominating score of 39-10. Menika scored 37 goals for Madaripur. He was adjudged the player of the tournament. 

President of Bangladesh Handball Federation AKM Nurul Fazal Bulbul distributed prizes among the winners as chief guest during the prize giving ceremony. Director of Mousumi Industries Limited Kazi Rajib Uddin Ahmed Chapal alongside General Secretary of Bangladesh Handball Federation Asaduzzaman Kohinoor, League Committee Chairman and deputy Commissioner (Finance) of Dhaka Metropolitan Police Shyamal Kumar Mukherjee, Secretary of the League Committee Makbul Hossain were also present as special guest on the occasion.

The budget of the tournament was estimated at Tk six lakh and fifty thousand. A total of nine teams splitting into two groups took part in the handball league.

Participating team: Dhaka Mariner Youngs Club, Arambagh Krira Sangha, RN Sports Home, Madaripur Handball Training Centre, Viqarunnisa Sports Club, Gafur Baluch Smrity Sangsad, Jamalpur Sports Academy, Quantum Foundation and Dilkusha Sporting Club.Top two teams from each group moved in to the Super Four. The highest point taker team of Super Four was decided the champions of the handball league.  

Leave Your Comments

Latest News

More From Sports

Go to Home Page »

Site Index The Asian Age