Published:  12:43 AM, 12 July 2019

Bangladesh beat Pakistan in Inter-Parliamentary WC

Bangladesh beat Pakistan in Inter-Parliamentary WC Bangladesh's Captain Naimur Rahman Durjoy playing a shot during their Inter Parliamentary Cricket World Cup match. -Reuters

Bangladesh Parliamentary XI beat their Pakistani counterparts by 13 runs in the ongoing Inter-Parliamentary Cricket World Cup 2019 in London on Wednesday.

Bangladesh put on 135 runs in the stipulated 15 over. They dismissed Pakistan for 123 with Captain Naimur Rahman Durjoy taking 3-15. Bangladesh will take on New Zealand and South Africa in their next two matches.

The first edition of Inter-Parliamentary Cricket World Cup kicked off on July 9 as politicians from different countries locked horns on a different turf in London amid the drumbeat of the ongoing ICC Cricket World Cup.

Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Australia, Pakistan, India, England, New Zealand and South Africa are taking part in the event. Eight teams divided in two groups are playing in the event. Each group contains four teams.

Top two teams from each group will play in the semifinals on July 12. Mashrafe, as a parliamentarian was believed to take part in this tournament but his physical exhaustion was key in not playing the tournament.

The tournament is the brainchild of Chris Heaton-Harris, the Conservative MP for Daventry who has organised the tournament in conjunction with the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB).

Leave Your Comments

Latest News

More From Sports

Go to Home Page »

Site Index The Asian Age