Published:  02:25 AM, 14 July 2019

Bangladesh finish runners-up in IPC World Cup

Bangladesh finish runners-up in IPC World Cup Bangladesh representatives pose for a group photo at the Inter-Parliamentary Cricket World Cup (IPCWC) in London. -Collected

Bangladesh finished the Inter-Parliamentary Cricket World Cup (IPCWC) with agony as they suffered a humiliating defeat against arch-rival Pakistan by nine wickets in the final in Kent's Beckenham's Cricket Club field on Friday.

Bangladesh were clearly favorite in the final but they fall under pressure in their most important match of the tournament. Earlier, Bangladesh beat Pakistan by 12 runs in the group phase.

Bangladesh were restricted to 104-8 in the stipulated 20 overs and predictably. Pakistan surpassed the target in 12 overs, losing just one wicket.Earlier in the day, Naimur Rahman Durjoy led Bangladesh stormed into the final beating hosts England by 37 runs at the same ground.

Bangladesh scored 183-5 in the stipulated 20-over before they restricted England to 146-9 to complete a facile victory in the second semifinal. Pakistan however beat Afghanistan by eight wickets in the first semifinal to romp to the final.
Members of Parliament, Bangladesh remained unbeaten in group phase. They had beaten Pakistan in their first match by 12 runs on last Wednesday at Burlington Gardens, Chiswick in London.

Later in second match they crushed All Stars by 20 runs on Thursday. Batting first, Bangladesh made 129-5 in their stipulated 15 overs. In reply, All Stars were bundled out for 109. The group phase matches were a 15-over affair while the semifinals and final was 20-over affair.

The four-day tournament began on July 9 with lawmakers from England, Australia, New Zealand, India, Bangladesh, Pakistan and Afghanistan taking to the field. The event aimed to promote relationships between the parliamentarians and to celebrate the 2019 Cricket World Cup taking place in England and Wales.

Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, Afghanistan, New Zealand, Australia, hosts England along with an All Stars team-split into two groups competed in the tournament.

The tournament is the brainchild of Chris Heaton-Harris, the Conservative MP for Daventry who has organized the tournament in conjunction with the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB).

The MPs however will watch the World Cup final between England and New Zealand, alongside British Prime Minister Theresa May, at Lord's in London Sunday.

Bangladesh squad

Mohammad Shahriar Alam, Mohammad Zahid Ahsan Russel, Nazmul Hassan Papon, Abdullah al Islam Jakob, Naimur Rahman Durjoy, Nahim Razzak, Jewel Areng, Mohammad Anwarul Azim, Junayed Ahmed Palak, Sheikh Tanmoy, Choto Monir, Anwarul Abedin Khan Tuhin, Nurunnabi Chowdhury, Mujibur Rahman Chowdhury Nixon, Ahsan Adelur Rahman Adil, Mohammad Sanwar Hossain, Mohammad Shafiqul Islam Shimul, Fahim Gulandaz Babel, Mohammad Ayen Uddin and Barrister Shamim Haider Patwary.

---Salman Farshi, AA

Leave Your Comments

Latest News

More From Back Page

Go to Home Page »

Site Index The Asian Age