Published:  04:23 PM, 14 July 2019

ICC WC final: New Zealand opt to bat first

ICC WC final: New Zealand opt to bat first

New Zealand opted to bat first after winning the toss against hosts England in the final match of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 in a rain-soaked ground of cricket’s premier venue Lord’s on Sunday.

The toss was delayed by 15 minutes due to wet outfield following rain in the morning.
The side batting first has won all five ODIs played at Lord's since the Champions Trophy 2017.

On their way to the final, England beat Australia in the second semifinal while New Zealand knocked out India in the first semifinal.

Both the teams fielded unchanged playing XI.

England: Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (capt), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler(wk), Chris Woakes, Liam Plunkett, Jofra Archer, Adil Rashid, Mark Wood

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Henry Nicholls, Kane Williamson (capt), Ross Taylor, James Neesham, Tom Latham (wk), Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Matt Henry, Trent Boult, Lockie Ferguson

Leave Your Comments

Latest News

More From Sports

Go to Home Page »

Site Index The Asian Age