Published:  11:23 PM, 09 September 2019

Rangpur-3 by-polls: Nine candidates file nomination

Rangpur-3 by-polls: Nine candidates file nomination
A total of nine candidates have filed nomination to contest the by-election to Rangpur-3 constituency billed for October 5.

The parliamentary seat fell vacant following the death of Jatiya Party chairman HM Ershad. 

Ershad, who was ousted in 1990 after his nine years of autocratic rule, died while undergoing treatment at the Combined Military Hospital in the capital on July 14.

The nine parliamentary candidates who submitted nomination papers are Advocate Rezaul Karim Razu (Awami League), Rita Rahman (Chairman of People’s Party of Bangladesh, an ally of the BNP-led 20-party alliance), Ershad’s son Shad Ershad (Jatiya Party), Towhidur Rahman Mondal (Khelafat Majlish), Kazi Shohidullah (Gonoforum), Shafiul Alam (National People’s Party), Muhammad Ekramul Haque (Bangladesh Congress Dal), Ershed’s nephew Makbul Hussain Shahriar Asif (Independent) and Kawsar Zaman Babla (Independent).

Returning Officer and Regional Election Officer Shahatab Uddin said they will scrutinise the nomination papers on September 11 while the last date of withdrawing candidature is September 16.

He said the Election Commission has decided to hold the election using the Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) and the balloting will be held from 9am to 5pm.

A total of 442,072 voters, including 220,762 females, will be able to cast their votes through 175 centres.

Leave Your Comments

Latest News

More From Politics

Go to Home Page »

Site Index The Asian Age