Published:  10:30 PM, 12 September 2019

Fourth session of 11th Parliament prorogued

Fourth session of 11th Parliament prorogued
The fourth session of the 11th Parliament was prorogued on Tuesday after only four sittings.

Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury read out the prorogation order of the President around 9:26pm.

Only one bill was passed and five others were placed during the session that began on September 8.

While reading out the prorogation order, the Speaker thanked all MPs of treasury and opposition benches for reaching consensus in the House in upholding parliamentary democratic practices.

During the short session, 158 notices were placed under Section 71 of the Rules of Procedure, of which three were accepted and discussed in the House.

Besides, 30 notices were discussed for two minutes under Section 71 (Ka) of the Rules of Procedure.

A total of 70 questions were received for Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina and she replied to 18 of them.

The session received 1,553 questions for different ministers with the ministers answering 452 ones.

Meanwhile, Leader of the House and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina and Leader of the Opposition Raushon Ershad gave their valedictory speeches.

Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury thanked all the MPs, officials, journalists, law enforcers and fire service and civil defence personnel for their services for smoothly holding the parliament session.

Leave Your Comments

Latest News

More From Back Page

Go to Home Page »

Site Index The Asian Age