Published:  01:13 AM, 11 October 2019

NCL begins amid rain interruption

NCL begins amid rain interruption Chattogram Division opener Tamim Iqbal (L) failed to mark his red ball cricket return in NCL as he was dismissed by Dhaka Metro's skipper Mahmudullah Riyad (R) on 30 at Shere Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur yesterday. -Collected

The most awaited and prestigious National Cricket League (NCL) kicked off on Thursday with four matches at different venues in the country.  At Shere Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur, Chattogram Division faced Dhaka Metropolis in the high voltage clash. All eyes were on Tamim Iqbal's batting but he failed to mark his cricket return.

Tamim Iqbal scored just 30 runs before he was removed by Dhaka Metropolis skipper Mahmudullah Riyad. Chattogram finished the day at 147 for three as rain Interrupted several times on the opening day.

Earlier, Chattogram captain Mominul Haque's decision to bat first after winning the toss was justified by Tamim who, in the company of Sadiqur Rahman (51), gave Chattogram a confident start of 80. Tamim fall shortly before lunch. After the lunch break Dhaka bowlers found their range as they removed Sadiqur and Mominul (11) inside 113 runs.

Veteran Pinak Ghosh (30) and Tasamul Haque (17) however finished the day without further loss. Captain Mahmudullah bagged all three wickets for Dhaka Metro. Meanwhile at Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium in Fatullah, Dhaka Division were in deep trouble against Rajshahi Division as they finished the day one with 143 runs losing seven wickets before rain started.

Opener Rony Talukdar boosted Dhaka innings with 63 runs but others failed to negotiate Rajshahi bowlers. Joyraz Sheik (35) failed to convert his good start.  Rajshahi spinner Taijul Islam was the chief tormentor in Dhaka innings taking four wickets for 55 runs while   pacer Shafiul Islam bagged three wickets.

The other two matches between Barisal Division and Sylhet Division at Shahid Kamruzzaman Stadium, Rajshahi and the match between Khulna Division and Rangpur Division day one was called off without a ball bowled due to pouring rain.

Eight divisional teams as usually are participating in the tournament split into two tiers. Based on the result of the previous edition, Tier-1 consisted with the teams like Khulna, Rajshahi, Rangpur and Dhaka Division. Tier-2 comprised with Chattogram, Dhaka Metro, Sylhet and Barishal. Bottom table team of Tier-1 will be relegated to Tier-2 while top placed team of Tier-2 will move to Tier-1.

The NCL is seen as the preparation platform for the players in the upcoming two-match Test series against India with which they will start their World Test Championship journey.

Leave Your Comments

Latest News

More From Sports

Go to Home Page »

Site Index The Asian Age