Published:  12:07 AM, 07 November 2019

Meghalaya open for BD nationals

Says Chief Minister of Meghalaya Conrad Sangma

Meghalaya open for BD nationals IBCCI accorded a reception to the visiting delegation team from Meghalaya on Wednesday. From left Meghalaya's Agriculture Minister Banteidor Lyngdoh, Education Minister Lakmen Rymbui, Indian High Commissioner to Bangladesh Riva Ganguly Das, Meghalaya's

A delegation team led by Conrad Sangma, Chief Minister of Meghalaya is currently visiting Bangladesh. India-Bangladesh Chamber of Commerce and Industry (IBCCI) accorded a reception to Conrad Sangma and other delegates in the city on Wednesday.

Conrad Sangma said that Meghalaya is open for Bangladeshi traders to conduct business activities in the fields of health, food processing, tourism, education and information technology (IT) sectors. Meghalaya has historic relationship with Bangladesh, he further said.

Indian High Commissioner to Bangladesh Riva Ganguly Das said that Bangladesh and India have friendly alliance with each other. This relationship will be more consolidated in days to come, she said optimistically.

Abdul Matlub Ahmad, President of IBCCI welcomed the delegation team from Meghalaya and expressed hope that Bangladesh-India commercial ties would get further strengthened through such initiatives.

Shoeb Chowdhury, Vice President of IBCCI said that Bangladesh has cordial and wholehearted affiliations with Meghalaya. Meghalaya is called Switzerland of the east for its natural beauty. Many Bangladeshi people visit Shillong for different purposes, the capital of Meghalaya. He called upon the Indian government to ease the visa process so that more Bangladeshi tourists can visit Meghalaya.

Mir Nasir Ahmed, former President of FBCCI, Mohammad Ali, former President of IBCCI, Taskin Ahmed, former President of IBCCI attended the program among other high-profile business leaders.

Meghalaya's Agriculture Minister Banteidor Lyngdoh, Education Minister Lakmen Rymbui and Meghalaya's Commerce Minister Sniawbhalang Dhar attended the reception too.

The delegation team from Meghalaya also includes P. Shakil Ahmed, Mebanshailang R. Synrem, Dr. Vijay Kumar, Dr. C Manjunatha, Cyril VD Diengdoh, Shantanu Sharma, Baphin K. Sohliya, W. Warshong, Saidul Khan, Marbin Bolwari, Borwood Thabah, Bawanshanbor Lyngdoh Nongpyiur and Pramod Kumar Roy.

Leave Your Comments

Latest News

More From City

Go to Home Page »

Site Index The Asian Age