Published:  02:20 AM, 08 November 2019

India make it 1-1

India make it 1-1 India captain Rohit Sharma celebrates his quick fire fifty against touring Bangladesh during the second T20I on Thursday at Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Rajkot. -Collected

Indian skipper Rohit Sharma's blistering knock helped his team to pulled off an exciting eight-wicket triumph over touring Bangladesh in the second game of a three-match Twenty20 series on Thursday at Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Rajkot.

Rohit Sharma smashed a brilliant 85 off just 43 balls hitting 6 sixes and 6 fours while opener Shikhar Dhawan scored 31 off 27 balls. With this win, India leveled the series 1-1.

Chasing 154 to win, India reached the target in 15.4 overs and won the game by 8 wickets. Lokesh Rahul and Shreyas Iyer remained unbeaten on 8 and 24 respectively. For Bangladesh, Aminul Islam Biplob bagged two wickets conceding 29 runs in four overs.

Earlier, Indian bowlers produced an amazing comeback to restrict Bangladesh to 153 for six in the second T20I of the three-match series at Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Rajkot on Thursday.

India have won the toss and sent Bangladesh to bat first. With the Bangladesh batting in form, the Indian bowling looked more erratic than before and runs were coming thick and fast. There were strong partnerships from the Bangladesh top order, with Mohammad Naim leading the way for the umpteenth time. Opener Liton Das was the first man out who was run out needlessly after contributing 29 runs.

Soumya Sarkar then started charging clobbering some couple of fours to keep Indian bowlers at bay. But the set man in the crease Naim (36) played one shot too many and was hold at deep midwicket. Mushfiq who played a heroic nock in the first T20, failed to click in the middle that mattered the most in the Tigers' innings. Indian spinners Washington Sundor and Chahal bowled cleverly in the middle overs as Tigers' run rate slowed down. 

Soumya lost his composure, charged to Chahal and was promptly stumped by Pant when he had reached 30 as Tigers slumped to 4-103. The innings never regained full momentum despite a 30-run knock by Captain Mahmudullah Riyad. Afif played a rush shot but only found at cover as he scored as Tigers remained under pressure.

Indian bowlers kept Bangladesh under pressure as Mosaddek and Mahmudullah struggled against Indian discipline bowling to play big shots in the dying overs as Bangladesh could post a decent total. Yuzvendra Chahal took two wickets for 28 runs while Chahar, Khalil and Washington Sundar claimed one wicket each for India.

Earlier, there was doubt about this game due to the cyclone 'Maha', but the cyclone weakens hours before the game takes place in Rajkot. In the first game on November 3, Bangladesh beat India by a big margin of seven wickets riding on the bat of Mushfiqur Rahim who remained unbeaten hitting 60.

The series decider third T20 match will kicks off on 10 November at Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium in Nagpur.

Leave Your Comments

Latest News

More From Back Page

Go to Home Page »

Site Index The Asian Age