Published:  01:13 PM, 09 November 2019 Last Update: 01:25 PM, 09 November 2019

Meet the five judges who delivered Ayodhya verdict

Meet the five judges who delivered Ayodhya verdict

A five-member Supreme Court constitution bench, headed by Chief Justice of India Ranjan Gogoi, announced the long-pending judgment in the Ayodhya Ram Janmabhoomi-Babri Masjid title suit case on Saturday.

Of the five judges, Chief Justice hails from Assam while Justice Abdul Nazeer is from the Muslim community.

Ahead of the verdict, elaborate security arrangements have been made across the country, especially in the temple town to avoid any conflict.

Since it is a politically-sensitive verdict, all the five judges, including Muslim judge Abdul Nazeer, have got increased security cover from the government, according to India Today. 

The other judges are Justice SA Bobde, Justice DY Chandrachud and Justice Ashok Bhushan. 

Here is all you need to know about them:

CJ Ranjan Gogoi: Ranjan Gogoi, who hails from Assam, was the first individual from the Northeast to hold the top judicial post in October 2018. CJI Gogoi has practiced in several courts during his career including the Gauhati High Court, the Punjab and Haryana High Court, following which he was elevated to the Supreme Court in April 2012. He has heard several landmark cases during his career including the one concerning the National Citizens Register (NRC). Gogoi, who will retire on November 17, had earlier indicated that the verdict in the landmark Ayodhya case will be delivered by this week.

Justice Sharad Arvind Bobde: He is part of the SC 5-member constitution bench as well. He will succeed Ranjan Gogoi as the next Chief Justice of India after the latter retires on November 17. Justice Bobde had served as an additional judge in the Bombay High Court in 2000, following which he was appointed the Chief Justice of Madhya Pradesh High Court in 2002. Justice Bobde was finally elevated to the SC in April 2013. He will be the CJ of India for the next 18 months before retiring. Justice Bobde has earlier said that the Ayodhya dispute case is sensitive and also one of the most crucial cases ever.

Justice DY Chadrachud: He is also a part of the SC bench that is delivering its verdict in the Ayodhya land dispute case. Born to YV Chandrachud, the longest-serving CJI of India, Justice DY Chandrachud was appointed as an SC judge in May 2016 by former president Pranab Mukherjee. Justice Chandrachud has served in Bombay High Court, the Allahabad High Court. Justice Chandrachud gave some interesting verdicts including the one on adultery law and right to privacy.

Justice Ashok Bhushan: Justice Ashok Bhushan, who started off his career in the late 1970s, is among the five-member SC constitution bench that announced the historic verdict Saturday. Earlier in his life, Justice Bhushan practiced as an advocate in the Allahabad High Court, following which he was elevated to the post of judge in April 2001. He has also served in the Kerala High Court in July 2014; he also took charge as Acting Chief Justice a few months later. Justice Bhushan was finally appointed to the Supreme Court on May 13, 2016.

Justice Abdul Nazeer: He is the lone Muslim judge in the bench which gave the disputed Ayodhya land case judgment. Abdul Nazeer started practicing as an advocate in February 1983 and practiced in the Kerala High Court for 20 years. He was later appointed as an additional judge at the court in February 2003, following which he became a permanent judge in 2004. In February 2017, Justice Nazeer was elevated to the Supreme Court after serving as a judge in the Kerala High Court. He was part of a multi-faith bench that heard the triple Talaq case.

Leave Your Comments

Latest News

More From Asia

Go to Home Page »

Site Index The Asian Age