SA Games Cricket

Published:  02:00 AM, 05 December 2019

Tigers trounce woeful Maldives

Tigers trounce woeful Maldives

Bangladesh Men's Under-23 cricket team launched their 13th South Asian Games cricket campaign with a dominating 109 run win over Maldives in the T20 opener at Tribhuvan University International Cricket Ground, Kirtipur on Wednesday.

Opted to bat first after winning the toss, Bangladesh were able to post a commanding 174 for four in the stipulated 20 overs. Bangladesh openers Mohammad Naim and skipper Soumya Sarkar started Bangladesh innings with a flourish as they put on 59 in 7.3 overs. Naim was runout for 38.

It was leave Soumya and Nazmul Hasan Shanto to lift the innings. The duo put on another 53 run stand to turn the innings into strong position. soumya who hit four fours and two sixes was removed for 46 runs while Shanto scored 49 runs during his 38-ball stay.

In response, Bangladeshi left arm spinner Tanvir Islam kept Maldives early pressure taking Maldives' wickets every overs as he claimed five wickets for 19 runs in four overs. He was adjudged the player of the match.

A woeful batting performance by Maldives only two batsmen could reach double figure which meant Maldives were bundled for a paltry 65 in 19.2 overs.Leg spinner Minhajul Abedin Afridi and Afif Hossain bagged two wickets each for Bangladesh.Meanwhile Sri Lanka U-23 overpowered minnows Bhutan by 173 runs in their first game at the same venue.

Bangladesh Men's Under-23 cricket team reached Nepal on Sunday to take part the prestigious South Asian Games (SA Games) 2019 cricket event with the high hopes of sealing gold medal.Previously Bangladesh cricket team won gold in 2010 SA games. The last edition of SA Games was held in 2016 but there was no cricket event in that edition.

Apart from Bangladesh U-23 team, Bhutan, the Maldives Sri Lanka U-23 team and host Nepal are taking part in the round robin league match. Bangladesh will play their second match against Bhutan on December 6, meet host Nepal on December 7 and will take on Sri Lanka on December 8. The top two teams will play the final salted for December 10.

Bangladesh U-23 squad - Najmul Hossain Shanto (captain), Mohammed Saif Hasan, Naim Sheikh, Afif Hossain Dhrubo, Zakir Hasan, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Syed Minhajul Abedin Afridi, Sumon Khan, Mahidul Islam Bhuiyan Ankon, Tanvir Islam, Manik Khan, Mehede Hasan Rana, Soumya Sarkar, Mahadi Hasan and Hasan Mahmud.


Leave Your Comments

Latest News

More From Sports

Go to Home Page »

Site Index The Asian Age