Published:  01:44 PM, 20 July 2021

Bangladesh opt to bowl first in 3rd ODI against Zimbabwe

Bangladesh opt to bowl first in 3rd ODI against Zimbabwe

Bangladesh captain Tamim Iqbal decided to bowl first after winning the toss against Zimbabwe in the third and final ODI today at Harare Sports Club.

The Tigers had already won the series following their 155-run and three-wicket victory in the first two matches but with ODI super league points at stake, they refused to stay relax in the dead-rubber.

To fulfill their ambition of sweeping the series and collect all available points from the series, they brought up two changes.

Fast bowler Mustafizur Rahman who was declared fit from his ankle injury which he suffered during the practice game, replaced Shoriul Islam while Nurul Hasan Sohan came in the place of Mehidy Hasan Miraz, who sustained injury during the second game.

Despite losing the series, the dead-rubber is equally important for Zimbabwe for 10 points as they are languishing at the bottom table of the ICC ODI Super League.

Seeking a victory also to avoid whitewash apart from collecting 10 points, the hosts too made two changes to the squad with Ryan Burl and Donald Tiripano replacing Richard Ngarava and Tinashe Kamunhukamwe.

Line Ups:

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal (captain), Liton Das (wicket-keeper), Shakib Al Hasan, Mohammad Mithun, Mosaddek Hossain, Mahmudullah Riyad, Afif Hossain, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Saifuddin, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam.

Zimbabwe: Tadiwanashe Marumani, Regis Chakabva (wicket-keeper), Brendan Taylor (captain), Dion Myers, Sikandar Raza, Wesley Madhevere, Luke Jongwe, Blessing Muzarabani, Tendai Chatara, Ryan Burl, Donald Tirpano.

Latest News

More From Sports

Go to Home Page »

Site Index The Asian Age