Published:  12:01 AM, 18 September 2023

Tamim, Mahmudullah, Soumya named for New Zealand series

Tamim, Mahmudullah, Soumya named for New Zealand series
Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) announced the 15-member squad for the first two ODIs at home against New Zealand later this month.

Bangladesh have decided to rest several important players for the first two ODIs against New Zealand aiming to carefully manage their workload ahead of the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup 2023.

Batsman Litton Kumer Das will lead the side in the absence of regular captain Shakib Al Hasan who has been rested along with Mushfiqur Rahim, MehidyHasanMiraz, and the pace trio of Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, and Shoriful Islam.

There was no place for batters Naim Sheikh, Afif Hossain, and Shamim Hossain who were all part of the squad that played in the Asia Cup.
Tamim Iqbal, MahmudullahRiyad, Soumya Sarkar, and QuaziNurulHasanSohan returned to the side.

The Tigers have called up three uncapped players - southpaw ZakirHasan, pacer Khaled Ahmed and leg-spinner Rishad Hossain could all be in line for debuts during the ODI series.

The National Selection Panel Chairman MinhajulAbedin said: "The decision to rest players was taken in consideration of the World Cup in India which will be a long tournament where ensuring the mental and physical fitness of the cricketers will be very important. The series against New Zealand provides us an opportunity to take a look at some other players as well ahead of this major event.

"The squad is a blend of experience and youth and only Zakir, Khaled and Rishad have not featured in ODIs yet. Zakir was very close to playing against Ireland in March before he suffered an unfortunate injury. Khaled has done well in his list A career and Rishad offers a different dimension to our bowling attack."

The Bangladesh team will commence training on 19 September at the SBNCS, Mirpur:

SQUAD (for 1st & 2nd ODIs)

Litton Kumer Das (Captain), Tamim Iqbal Khan, Soumya Sarkar, AnamulHaqueBijoy, TawhidHridoy, MahmudullahRiyad, Quazi Nurul Hasan Sohan, Shak Mahedi Hasan, Nasum Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, TanzimHasanSakib, TanzidHasanTamim, ZakirHasan, Rishad Hossain, Syed Khaled Ahmed.

All matches will be played at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur.

1st ODI: 21 September
2nd ODI: 23 September
3rd ODI: 26 September

Latest News

More From Sports

Go to Home Page »

Site Index The Asian Age