bangladesh beat Sri Lanka by 4 wickets

Published:  12:00 AM, 18 March 2017 Last Update: 04:56 PM, 19 March 2017

Tigers seal historic win in 100th Test

Tigers seal historic win in 100th Test

Bangladesh snatch a historic win against Sri Lanka by 4 wickets and level the series 1-1. 

Tamim Iqbal’s 82 in the second innings helped the visitors win to spare at the P Sara Oval ground, in what was Bangladesh’s 100th Test match. Mehedi Hasan scored the winning runs as Bangladesh chased down the 191-run target set by Sri Lanka. 

Bangladesh became the fourth team in history of cricket to win their 100th Test after Australia, Pakistan and West Indies as they notched up a four-wicket win over Sri Lanka in Colombo.

Chasing a target of 191 runs on the final day of the match, Bangladesh lost two early. In the end, Mushfiqur Rahim was unbeaten on 22 to see his team through. This is first time that Bangladesh have beaten Sri Lanka in Test cricket. After playing 100th Test, Bangladesh have nine wins, out of which four are away from him. 

Sri Lanka have picked up the wickets of Soumya Sarkar and Imrul Kayes in quick succession before lunch as Bangladesh stuttered early in their chase on the final day of the second Test of Joy Bangla Cup series. 

Earlier, Tigers have bowled Sri Lanka out for 319 in thefirst session at P SaraOval, Colombo on Sunday.

Overnight batsman Dilruwan Perera was trapped by run outafter picking up his 4th Test half century 112.4 overs, leaving the team at318/9.

In the following over, Suranga Lakmal (42) was caught byMosaddek Hossain off Shakib Al Hasan bowling adding one run in the last wicketpartnership with Lakshan Sandakan.

Tail-enders Dilruwan Perera (50) and Suranga Lakmal (42)continued to frustrate the Tigers’ bowlers with an 80-run stand for the eighthwicket in the morning after they resumed on an overnight 268 for 8.

Perera was eventually run out after his fourth Testhalf-century. Lakmal soon followed him back when he holed out at long-off togive Shakib Al Hasan his fourth wicket.


Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes, Mushfiqur Rahim(Captain, Wicketkeeper), Shakib Al Hasan, Sabbir Rahman, Mehedi Hasan, MosaddekHossain Saikat, Mustafizur Rahman, Taijul Islam and Subashis Roy

Sri Lanka

Dimuth Karunaratne, Upul Tharanga, Kusal Mendis, DineshChandimal, Dhananjaya de Silva, Asela Gunaratne, Niroshan Dickwella(Wicketkeeper), Dilruwan Perera, Rangana Herath (Captain), Suranga Lakmal andLakshan Sandakan

Leave Your Comments

Latest News

More From Sports

Go to Home Page »

Site Index The Asian Age